UCSF has made a commitment to Advancing Health Worldwide. Fulfilling this commitment requires that we tackle and solve today’s most challenging problems in biomedical science and healthcare, for everyone. Diverse teams, including people from different backgrounds and with different life experiences, are better at solving complex problems. UCSF’s success in improving the health of our patients and out communities depends on diversifying our disciplines and professions and creating an inclusive an equitable workplace. It is time that we engineer our culture for equity and inclusion so that all may thrive.


Differences Matter has six focus areas, each led by faculty and staff Dean’s Diversity Leaders:


Leadership: Develop an informed, committed and diverse leadership who are dedicated to advancing diversity, equity and inclusion in all mission areas and at all UCSF sites.

Climate and Recruitment: Increase the diversity of our faculty, residents and professional staff and increase the personal competencies of all our professionals in teaching, leading and managing a diverse community.

Education: Cultivate the highest quality, most inclusive learning environment for our medical students and residents.

Clinical Care: Identify and address health care disparities in the clinical environments, UCSF and UCSF affiliates and ensure that health care professionals are skilled in working with diverse communities.

Research: Increase the diversity of our scientific workforce and our clinical trials participants and work to ensure that our discovery engine provides better insights into the health and health care needs of our increasingly diverse population.

Pipeline, Outreach and Pathways: Establish UCSF as a destination for those who seek to eliminate opportunity disparities in our communities.


Executive Advisory Board

Dean Talmadge King has charged a twenty-six member Executive Advisory Board to oversee this initiative. Composed of leaders from several UCSF and School of Medicine departments and offices, this group is responsible for ensuring the success of each component of the initiative and the success of the individual Dean's Diversity Leaders through sponsorship.

  • Nancy Adler, PhD
  • Shelley Adler, PhD
  • Sheila Antrum, RN, MHSA
  • Burt Lubin, MD
  • Robert Baron, MD
  • Atul Butte, MD, PhD
  • Sue Carlisle, MD, PhD
  • Charles Craik, PhD
  • Tejal Desai, PhD
  • Shari Dworkin, PhD, MS
  • Elena Fuentes-Afflick, MD, MPH
  • Jennifer Grandis, MD
  • Kevin Grumbach, MD
  • B. Joseph Guglielmo, PharmD
  • Talmadge E. King, Jr., MD
  • Hanmin Lee, MD
  • Marguerita Lightfoot, PhD
  • Dan Lowenstein, MD
  • Kenneth McQuaid, MD
  • Renee Navarro, MD
  • Catherine Park, MD
  • Rena Pasick, DrPH
  • Neil Powe, MD, MPH, MBA
  • Michael Reyes, MD, MPH
  • Christine Ritchie, MD
  • George Taylor, DMD, MPH, DrPH
  • Darnele Wright, JD
  • Judy Young, MPH
  • Constance Yu


(opens UCSF Box file)